Follow me!

Quechup Just Spammed My Address Book

posted on September 1, 2007

Any of us who join any new site or service these days have gotten use to seeing the familiar “see if anyone in  your address book is already using the site” feature where it’ll look through your address book and tell you who are members. In most situations you can connect with those already using the service and then have the OPTION of if you want to invite other people.

I got an invite to check out Quechup from a podsafe artist that I dig so I figured I’d check it out, sign up and see what happens. None us need another social network site, but I also think signing up for an account just to check it out is a good thing.

I had it check my address book and it found a whopping 2 people on the network I knew. I sent them friend requests and then proceeded to check out the rest of the site.

Fast forward a few minutes and my inbox starts filling up with auto return messages, out of office messages and all sorts of other things. I couldn’t figure out what was going on and it turns out that this system WITHOUT MY PERMISSION just sent invites to my whole address book.

Hey staff at Quechup, what gives you the right to do that? I’ll reach out to my contacts when I believe in something, but don’t you dare do it without my permission.

If you got one of these from me I apologize. I don’t ever invite or recommend until I think there might be some value in something and right now I’m not seeing ANY value in this site since they are obviously clueless to how things need to work.

This type of shit really pisses me off. Blatant cluelessness is inexcusable.

Good read? Share with others!
Categories: Rants
  • Pingback: Future Visions

  • http://rosedesrochers.todays-woman.net Rose DesRochers

    I too received an invite from someone, not you of course as this is the first time I have been to your blog but it is interesting to know that this service is sending invites without permission.

  • whatever

    damn… I thought I had finally made it and was invited to network with CC’s other cool friends…

  • Pingback: FredCavazza.net » Non au spam social de Quechup !

  • Pingback: Le Blogueur » Blog Archive » Non au spam social de Quechup !

  • http://PodcastJunky.com PodcastJunky

    I hope this puts them out of business!

  • Pingback: » Quechup Warning !!

  • Pingback: Quechup spam « Adrian Pegg | my media

  • http://yourmotivationalrevolution.blogspot.com Mark McLain

    The same thing just happened to a friend of mine, over 5,500 contacts. In an apology email to me he gave this link. So unfortunate that a careless company like this makes it bad for all the other online social networks. Yuwie does not behave like this. In fact, they value their members so much they pay them. http://yisfunandeasy.com

  • http://www.msquared.id.au/ Msquared

    I don’t trust any of these social networking sites enough to give them my login details to any email I might have.

    If I trust it enough to do something sensible, then I might upload my list of email addresses and let it try to find my friends. (eg: Facebook).

  • casand

    i received an invitation from my perv professor, good thing i checked it out first before doing anything drastic.

    thank heavens i stumbled upon this site.

  • Pingback: Beware of Quechup.com. It’s One Hell of a Spammer! : bloggingmix.com

  • http://www.logodiver.com/ Logo designer

    I had a bunch of invite e-mails this September from people whom I could never suspect to invite me to such a site.
    So, now this mystery is solved.
    I wonder did they thought about consequences and community reaction to this dirty trick?

  • Pingback: Quechup = Spam | Jeff McNeill - เจฟฟรี่ แม็คนีล

  • Pingback: Hold the Quechup, please! - Tommy Vallier